Friday, August 3, 2007

9th Wonder Goes Solo With Dream Merchant Vol. 2

On October 9th, 9th wonder will drop The Dream Merchant Vol. 2, his much anticipated solo album. After producing records for some of the biggest names in hip hop and R&B(Jay-Z, Destiny's Child, Mary J. Blige, Mos Def etc. etc. etc.) and collaborating with Phonte and Big Pooh on several Little Brother albums 9th decided to fulfill a dream born six years ago in his Uncle's basement. Oh yeah did we also mention 9th is teaching a class entitled Hip-Hop In Context 1973-1997 at his alma mater NCCU with Chris Martin From Kid N Play.

So your probably asking yourself. Where did 9th find time to track down and collab all the artists on his upcoming album? Coming from 9th it sounds pretty easy.

"Basically it came down to who wanted to work with me. I wanted to work with a group of artists where some you had heard of and some you haven’t, but all in all wanted to work with me, without having to go through 50 different people to get to the artist. The artists that are on the album are cats who genuinely wanted to do music with me. That was more important to me then anything else."

We're big fans of Little Brother and 9th has produced some classic records already. On top of that when you do an album with artists that are hungry to work with you and not the other way around you have a formula for great music. Gander On for an amazing tracklist and look for The Dream Merchant Vol. 2 on Six Hole/Hall of Justus records on October 9th.

Dream Merchant Vol. 2 Tracklist

1 Mr. Dream Merchant Intro
2 Shots f/Big Dho & Sean Price
3 Merchant Of Dreams f/The EMBASSY, Skyzoo & Torae
4 Brooklyn In My Mind f/ Mos Def, Jean Grae & Memphis Bleek
5 Sunday f/Keisha Shontelle & Chaundon
6 Baking Soda f/Big Treal
7 Reminisce (Take Time) f/Big Remo & The Great Novej of the A.L.L.I.E.S.
8 No Time To Chill f/Little Brother
9 It Aint Over ft. Jozee Mo & Tyler Woods
10 The Last Time f/ Royce the 5'9, Naledge & Vandalyzm, The D, The Chi & The Lou
11 Saved f/Saigon & Joe Scudda
12 Milky Lowa ft. Camp Lo
13 Backlash f/Sean Boog & Buckshot
14 Thank You f/ D.O.X & O-Dash
15 Let It Bang f/Ness & Skyzoo
16 What Makes A Man f/Rapper Big Pooh & Buddy Klein

No comments: